"> FAQs for Florida Contractor Continuing Education requirements
Welcome 14 Hour Package $79.95 About CE Course Catalog CE Requirements for CLIB Construction Books Free Contractor & Trade Magazines Useful Contractor Links Contact Us Safety & Code Violation Photos Privacy & Legal Policy Related Construction Links Course Login Site Map

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Florida Construction Continuing Education

Q: How many hours of continuing education do I have to complete?
A: All registered and certified contractors licensed by the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board and the Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education during each renewal period (every two years or biannually)

Q: What are the current “core” or mandatory classes that I need to complete?
A: Currently of the required 14 hours you must complete one hour each of the following:
• Workplace Safety
• Workers’ Compensation
• Business Practices
• Advanced Building Code
• Laws and Rules
• Wind Mitigation (for general, building, residential, roofing, specialty structure, and glass and glazing contractors)
• The remaining eight (8) hours can be any course you want to learn about including more “core” courses.

For more information please contact the Construction Industry Licensing Board homepage at:

On the Construction Industry Licensing Board homepage, under the “Governing Statute and Rule heading” will link you to the governing rules and regulations. From here you may review Chapter 489.115 and Florida Administrative Code, 61G4. These are the governing regulations pertaining to Continuing Education for Construction Industry Licensing Board license holders.

Q: How are my hours reported to the state or county?
A: We electronically submit your continuing education hours electronically to the DBPR/CILB the names, license numbers, courses completed and dates of attendance of all contractors. This information is transmitted within 30 business days or less or before the licensing expiration on August 31 each year. Typically your hours are submitted within five business days or before licensing expiration.

For Pinellas County specialty contractors we email you a certificate of completion and you submit it directly to them. If you are not also certified or registered with the Construction Industry Licensing Board you have the responsibility to maintain your course completion certificate(s) and provide them at the time of license renewal.

Q: How does one check the hours of continuing education that a contractor has completed?
A: Certified and registered Florida contractors can log on at www.myfloridalicense.com and check your Continuing Education hours.

Q: Do you provide a certificate of completion?
A: Yes we email a certificate upon successful completion of a course or courses. You are responsible to save your proof of completion of continuing education hours.

Q: Do your course fees cover everything – or are there hidden fees?
A: There are no hidden fees. The price for a course or courses covers everything – customer service if you have a question while completing a course, reporting of your completed hours to the State if required, and emailing of your certificate to the email address you provided when registering.

Q: Does a contractor have to complete all of the class for credit or is partial credit given?
A: Only fully completed classes are given credit – no partial credit is allowed.

Q: What if I don’t complete all 14 hours before August 31st?
A: Contractors who fail to meet the continuing education requirements will not be allowed to renew their licenses.

Q: What is the deadline for my Continuing Education hours?
A: The deadline for certified contractors to complete their continuing education and renew their license(s) is August 31 in an even year (2014, 2016, 2018, etc.); for registered contractors to complete their continuing education and renew their license(s) is August 31 in an odd year (2015, 2017, 2019, etc.).

Q: Why should I choose you?
A: We teach “real-life” business building information. You will learn powerful information, business concepts, and the laws & rules that regulate your business. You will be able to implement and improve your business immediately!

Q: Is there a minimum amount of time I must attend each internet session.
A: No log on for as little as ten minutes or as long as it takes to complete your course. It is up to you as when and how much time you devote any one session.

Q: For each hour of credit how much time do I have to devote?
A: You have to spend at least 50 minutes per course hour. However, you can use multiple sessions to complete the 50 minutes. Log in and log out whenever you want. When you log back in you can return to the same place when you last logged off.

Q: How do I know if I have enough required time in a course?
A: The computer server tracks how much time you spend in a course and in which section of that course. You will not be given proof of completion until you spend the required time in a course. If you complete a course and have not met the minimum time requirements you must keep reviewing the material until you meet the time requirement. If you are inactive on one page of the course for more than 10 minutes you will lose ALL time spent on that page and will be logged out of the course. For example if you spend 25 minutes on one page without clicking on the “next” or “refresh” button you will be logged out and you will lose the entire 25 minutes not just the extra 15 minutes in excess of the 10 minutes.

Q: What type of computer and operating system do I need to view your courses?
A: You need a computer desktop, laptop, notebook, etc. that has the Flash application/plugin installed. The courses cannot be viewed on non Flash devices such as iPads, iPhones, eReaders, etc.

Q: What forms of payment do you accept?
A: We use PayPal to process your payments. You can use MasterCard, Visa, Discover, etc. You can also pay using your bank account or whatever form of payment your PayPal account is set up for.

Q: What if I do not have a PayPal account and do not want one – can I still pay for a course?
A: Yes PayPal can process your payment even if you do not have a PayPal account.

Q: What if I want to send a check to you for payment?
A: Unfortunately we only accept electronic payment via PayPal.

Q: How much time do I have to complete a course?
A: All courses must be completed within 60 days of enrollment.

Q: What personal information do you collect?
A: We do not share or sell your information to any third parties except for what is necessary to report your continuing education hours to the appropriate agencies. We do collect information necessary for your enrollment, maintain your registration, and track your time/progress in each course. Please check with the information collection policies at PayPal, Department of Business & Professional Regulation and the Construction Industry Licensing Board directly.

Q: I still have a question that you have not answered on this page – how can I contact you?
A: Please email any question, comments, or concerns to:


e-mail me